Here I come

Posted by

Next stop, Mars. Perseverance rover is now 19 million miles away from Mars. At 93% of it’s total journey, how amazing time fly so fast and what do you know 2020 was behind us now. With all the global challenges, here we are and about to embark a great moment in space exploration.

How to track Perseverance


Still on it’s quarter distance to Mars and 5 months to go. Mars 2020 still cruising in space. I’ve covered two articles on identifying Perseverance’s location in space. Here’s another approach to get that same information, distance traveled from Earth and relative distance left to cruise till it reaches Mars. If you are into coding

Continue reading

Hope everyone is fine and safe. We are still in this global pandemic crisis and we are still coping with the impact and I’m sure we can get through this. From time to time, we need to pause and contemplate on the adventures we’ve had and about to take. Mars 2020 Perseverance rover maybe alone towards Mars. But, let’s think of it that we traveling with it. Every void of space we are filling it. Every mile of descent towards the Martian surface we are gliding with it. It’s an encouraging moment for us humans and it’s one the many things to celebrate 2021.

How to track the events live?

This is not like tracking a comet or any celestial body or phenomenon that we can visibly identify. It’s not easy to keep up with a probe travelling at 49 thousand miles per hour and 273 million miles from Earth. Below table will guide and, in someway, helps us visualize the arrival of Mars 2020 Perseverance rover on Mars. So, mark you calendars for it will be fast pace from here on.


Upcoming Events

Date Title Channel Can I ask questions?
Feb. 2, 2021
10 a.m. PST /
1 p.m. EST
Ask an Astrobiologist: Mars 2020 panel episode Watch on Facebook
NASA Astrobio

via @NASAAstrobio using #AskAstrobio
Feb. 16, 2021
10 a.m. PST /
1 p.m. EST
News Briefing: Mission Overview and Technology Watch on YouTube
NASA JPL

via @NASA
using #CountdownToMars
Feb. 16, 2021
11:45 a.m. PST /
2:45 p.m. EST
News Briefing: Science Overview Watch on YouTube
NASA JPL

via @NASA
using #CountdownToMars
Feb. 16, 2021
8:30 a.m. PST /
11:30 a.m. EST
High School Students – Countdown to Landing Watch on YouTube
NASAJPL Edu

Register to ask questions
Feb. 16, 2021
11:30 a.m. PST /
2:30 p.m. EST
Middle School Students – Countdown to Landing Watch on YouTube
NASAJPL Edu

Register to ask questions
Feb. 17, 2021
9:30 a.m. PST /
12:30 p.m. EST
Elementary School Students – Countdown to Landing Watch on YouTube
NASAJPL Edu

Register to ask questions
Feb. 17, 2021
10 a.m. PST /
1 p.m. EST
News Briefing: Mission Status and What You’ll See Tomorrow Watch on YouTube
NASA JPL

via @NASA
using #CountdownToMars
Feb. 17, 2021
12 p.m. PST /
3 p.m. EST
News Briefing: Proof of Ancient Life and Mars Sample Return Watch on YouTube
NASA JPL

via @NASA
using #CountdownToMars
Feb. 18, 2021
9:30 a.m. PST /
12:30 p.m. EST
Landing Day Live Stream for Students Watch on YouTube
NASAJPL Edu

Register to ask questions
Feb. 18, 2021
11:15 a.m. PST /
2:15 p.m. EST
LIVE Landing Broadcast: Perseverance Rover Lands on Mars Watch on YouTube
NASA

Spanish-language show
NASA

via @NASA
using #CountdownToMars
Feb. 18, 2021
~2:30 p.m. PST /
5:30 p.m. EST
Post-Landing News Briefing Watch on YouTube
NASA JPL

via @NASA
using #CountdownToMars
Feb. 19, 2021
10 a.m. PST /
1 p.m. EST
News Briefing: Mars 2020 Perseverance Rover Update Watch on YouTube
NASA JPL

via @NASA
using #CountdownToMars
Feb. 22, 2021
11 a.m. PST /
2 p.m. EST
News Briefing: Mars 2020 Perseverance Rover Update Watch on YouTube
NASA JPL

via @NASA
using #CountdownToMars
Archived On-Demand Recordings
Jan. 27, 2021 News Briefing: Preview to Mars Landing
Thomas Zurbuchen, associate administrator, Science Mission Directorate, NASA Headquarters
Lori Glaze, director, Planetary Science Division, NASA Headquarters
Matt Wallace, Mars 2020 deputy project manager, JPL
Allen Chen, Mars 2020 entry, descent, and landing lead, JPL
Ken Farley, Mars 2020 project scientist, Caltech
Briony Horgan, Mars 2020 science team member, Purdue University
Replay on YouTube
NASA
Jan. 14, 2021 Introducing the Mission to Mars Student Challenge
Replay on YouTube
NASAJPL Edu
Oct. 22, 2020 Behind the Spacecraft — Meet NASA’s Eric Aguilar
Eric Aguilar, Mars 2020 Technical Group Supervisor
Replay on YouTube
NASA JPL
Sept. 15, 2020 Behind the Spacecraft — Meet NASA’s Diana Trujillo
Diana Trujillo, Mars 2020 Phase Lead, Robotic Arm Science
Replay on YouTube
NASA JPL
Aug. 27, 2020 Behind the Spacecraft — Meet NASA’s Michelle Tomey Colizzi
Michelle Tomey Colizzi, Mars 2020 Aeroshell Vehicle Lead
Replay on YouTube
NASA JPL

Perseverance is the game, Ingenuity is my name

Soon to be the first powered flight on Mars. The Mars helicopter, Ingenuity. Though intended for demo flight, if successful can open opportunities for humans in another mode of exploring the Martian surface. Or, perhaps Martian airspace. How cool is that. But, for now we’ll just settle for it’s single flight on it’s 30 day mission. That’s a placeholder for as you know that is just being conservative with the restrictions in place. Who knows, we can expect more. . . as Leonardo da Vinci once said…

“When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”

6 things to know about NASA’s Ingenuity Mars Helicopter

Flight on Mars


For over 50 years humans have made numerous mission to Mars. In that 5 decades of exploration, 56 mission have been sent and 7 of which are rovers. 4 of those rovers have been successful and have been covering the Martian soil for 64 km in the span of approximately 23 years. It’s about 3

Continue reading

Small steps at at time

Taking each time is never dull. “Each” could be small. But, it’s effect is big. Let us never underestimate small steps. Others may take leaps… others do sprint and blaze through. The destination is always set, predetermined if you will. We’ll get there somehow only if we persevere to thread through and rise up to the challenge.

Thank you for reading my blog. Leave your thoughts in the comment section below. Subscribe to be notified for more Mars 2020 mission updates.


Make sure to check out these cool Mars 2020 inspired items from TeePublic below are best sellers from this site. Supporting these products will help in keeping this site running.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s